“I’m only brave in text”

Lately I have been noticing a trend… whether good or bad I will let you decide. Here is what has been on my mind on the subject of bravery in text.

Whether it be through blogs, facebook, instant messaging, twittering, or even text messages people are becoming “brave” through these outlets. Many feel able to express their “true selves” and ideas through the sources listed above. Why? Maybe we are more willing to address someone if we cannot see how they can physically and emotionaly react… or maybe we’re just tired of being in a bubble and these are our vices?

Now, how does this begin to affect PR I’m beginning to wonder? Are companies going to be more willing to say in text and blog they are one way but truly be a different company when they come into contact with a human being?

Let me know your thoughts, I’m finding this topic very interesting…

3 responses to ““I’m only brave in text”

  1. Erin, this is a very good and complex question.

    I think on a personal level, for some people, especially shy ones, it’s somewhat more comfortable to open up in written text.

    For companies, written text allows the time and opportunity to craft and recraft the message – this could be a good thing or a bad one, if too much strategizing and recrafting remove the truthfulness and “nakedness” out of a message.

    I use “nakedness” here as it is used in the book Naked Conversations.

    I don’t really know, but thank you for making me think!

  2. I think it is much easier to communicate through technological means sometimes. There are certain situations where we feel awkward telling or asking someone something face to face, so we rely on our technological bravery today to get us through these moments.

    Using other outlets to express our true feelings is a trend that is becoming more and more common, and I think it is very likely that companies are going to follow in these same footsteps. I don’t think that they will be entirely different in face to face encounters, but I think they may take advantage of the opportunity that they now have to avoid talking about sticky situations in person if they can just put it on a blog or on their web-site now. Just my thoughts on the matter. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Comment on a Classmate’s Blog « Ashley Hall’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

